Los Angeles Free Music Society
Box set of 13 vinyl LPs, 52 page full color book, 3 posters, download card
edition of 500


The Los Angeles Free Music Society (LAFMS) is an experimental music collective founded by artists and musicians in Pasadena, California in the early 1970s. Continuously active for 40+ years, they have released over 25 recordings on their LAFMS label and have released or appeared on hundreds of albums on various labels the world over.  

In 2012, their work was the subject of a major exhibition at The Box that included photographs, visual art work, home-made instruments, recordings, ephemera, film & video. For the 6 week duration of the show, the gallery was host to many unforgettable concerts that captured the attitude and range of musical styles embodied by the LAFMS. 

This 13 LP box set contains every performance that occurred during the exhibition. Each group is represented by an entire LP side. 

Art direction and design by Tom Recchion. Photography by Fredrik Nilsen. 


Packaging: 13 LPs with full color sleeves, slip case box unit, 3 full color 36” x 24” posters, 52 page color book, and download card.


A: Opening Reception Improvisation (16:58)
B: Opening Reception Improvisation (19:20)
C: Artificial Art Ensemble (16:21)
D: The Tenses (17:58)
E: Tom Recchion (17:36)
F: The Doo-Dooettes (17:26)
G: Le Forte Four (16:38)
H: Smegma (10:22)
I: AIRWAY (19:04)
J: Ace & Duck / Artificial Art Ensemble (16:32)
K: Dinosaurs With Horns (16:59)
L: Vetza & Joe Potts (13:38)
M: Dolphin Explosion (6:01)
N: F For Ache (17:44)
O: Eddie Ruscha, Jim Shaw, Dani Tull (13:08)
P: Extended Organ (17:56)
Q: Feedback Waveriders (19:25)
R: Artzenkraft (13:43)
S: Small Drone Orchestra (19:40)
T: Albert Ortega (15:47)
U: Points Of Friction (20:01)
V: Rick Potts (15:27)
W: The Jrks (20:29)
X: Joe & Joe (20:06)
Y: Oolies (12:23)
Z: Rahdunes (16:41)


Includes performances by/of: Opening Reception Improvisation: Dennis DuckJohn DuncanAce Farren FordJoseph HammerMike Kelley, Fredrik Nilsen, Joe PottsRick Potts, Tom Recchion, VetzaArtificial Art EnsembleTed Byrnes, Ace Farren Ford, Mars Pharoah FordOddrocker Orlando GreenhillMichael IntriereThe TensesOblivia & Ju Suk Reet Meate; Tom Recchion; The Doo-Dooettes: Dennis Duck, Fredrik Nilsen, Tom Recchion; Le Forte Four: Joe Potts & Rick Potts; Smegma: Dennis Duck, Ace Farren Ford, Mars Pharoah Ford, Ju Suk Reet Meate, Oblivia, Vetza; Airway: Ted Byrnes, Dennis Duck, Ace Farren Ford, Juan Gomez, Joseph Hammer, Kevin Laffey, Fredrik Nilsen, Joe Potts, Rick Potts, Tom Recchion, Vetza; Ace & Duck / Artificial Art Ensemble: Ted Byrnes, Dennis Duck, Ace Farren Ford, Oddrocker Orlando Greenhill, Michael Intriere; Dinosaurs With Horns: Joseph Hammer & Rick Potts; Vetza & Joe Potts; Dolphin ExplosionColette Weber Shaw & Ariel West with Dani TullF For AcheDoug Harvey, Dani Tull, Marnie WeberEddie RuschaJim Shaw, Dani Tull; Extended OrganPaul McCarthy, Fredrik Nilsen, Joe Potts, Tom Recchion, with prerecorded XO contributions by Mike Kelley; Feedback WaveridersAntony DiGennaroMichael Jon Fink, Paul McCarthy, Chas SmithBrian WalshArtzenkraftJohn LewisSmall Drone OrchestraDon Lewis & Eddie NervoAlbert OrtegaPoints Of FrictionTim AlexanderDamian BiscigliaMitchell Brown, Joseph Hammer, Albert Ortega; Rick Potts (on altered turntables between sets; The JrksJoe BerardiKira VollmanRich WestJoe & Joe: Joseph Hammer & Joe Potts; OoliesTom Boram, Mitchell Brown, J.P. JenkinsRahdunesNate Archer & Aaron Coye.